12 EU Countries Are Already Using the EU’s Digital Covid Certificate

By Paul Riegler on 14 June 2021
  • Share

A training performance of the Spanische Hofreitschule, or Spanish Riding School, in Vienna

Twelve EU member states have already rolled out the bloc’s Digital Covid Certificate, known as the Digital Green Pass, while another 16 have completed testing and will implement it shortly.

The countries that have already rolled it out include Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Germany, Greece, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, and Spain.

Meanwhile, an additional 12 EU states and 4 non-EU nations that are members of the Schengen Area, Belgium, Cyprus, France, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, and Switzerland are close to launching it.

The European Commission has mandated that the digital passport be in place by July 1, but two countries are behind in the testing process, namely Hungary and Malta.

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News