List of Countries Banning Travel to UK Continues to Grow

By Gracie Connell on 28 December 2020
  • Share

Heathrow’s new Terminal 2, which opened in 2014

Travel to and from the United Kingdom is becoming increasingly restricted as the list of countries blocking their borders grows.

Following the discovery of the new strain of coronavirus two weeks ago, over 50 countries have imposed bans or restrictions on flights to and from the United Kingdom.

Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Ireland, and Italy all announced temporary suspensions of travel to and from Great Britain, effectively pulling up a drawbridge immediately following Prime Minister Boris Johnson’s announcement.

The list now includes Argentina, Brazil, Canada, China, India, Luxembourg, Russia, and Turkey.

Many of the countries on the list have largely banned travel, but are allowing citizens or those with essential travel to enter their borders. In these circumstances, a negative Covid-19 test result as well as a mandated quarantine period is usually required.

In addition, some nations continue to allow travel to and from the United Kingdom, including the United States, but are requiring travelers to present a negative Covid-19 test before flying.

Meanwhile, policies with respect to U.K. travel are changing on a daily basis as new information becomes available.

(Photo: Accura Media Group)


Accura News

Read previous post:
Amtrak to Move to New Moynihan Train Hall at Penn Station on January 1

Amtrak will begin operating out of the new Moynihan Train Hall on January 1, 2021, Governor Andrew Cuomo of New...