Germany Lifts Travel Ban to Other EU Countries and U.K.

By Kurt Stolz on 3 June 2020
  • Share

Empty ticket counters at Munich airport

German Außenminister Heiko Maas said Wednesday that the country would lift its travel ban on 29 European countries, including Britain and Iceland, on June 15.

The ban, which was imposed on March 17, will be replaced with travel advisories, he said to reporters.

“We did not come to this decision easily,” Maas said in a statement, but he urged caution: “Travel advisories are not travel bans, and travel notices are not invitations to travel.”  He also warned against being lulled into a false sense of security.

The change will allow travel to the 26 other countries in the European Union, the United Kingdom, and the four non-EU states in the Schengen Area, Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein, and Switzerland.

The United Kingdom will still have a 14-day self-quarantine requirement in place when the ban is lifted.

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News

Read previous post:
Here’s How Austria, Germany, Ireland, Italy, the Netherlands, and Switzerland Are Reopening

As the coronavirus wanes in parts of the globe, a number of countries are taking the first steps in reopening...