Austria to Open Borders with 7 Countries, But Not with Italy

By Kurt Stolz on 3 June 2020
  • Share

Austrian Außenminister Alexander Schallenberg said Wednesday that the country will open its borders with seven neighboring countries, but not with its neighbor to the south, Italy.

The list of countries includes Germany, Hungary, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland, and the Czech Republic.

“We are returning to the pre-corona situation regarding these countries,” the minister said, adding that Austria will open the border with Italy “as soon as the numbers permit it.”

The first outbreaks of the novel coronavirus were tracked to the Südtirol of Italy, a portion of the country which was part of Austria until the end of the First World War and in which 69% of the residents speak German as their first language.

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News