Trump Administration May Extend Travel Ban to Seven Additional Countries

By Jonathan Spira on 22 January 2020
  • Share

The Trump administration plans to add seven countries to the list of those subject to travel restrictions, officials in the White House said.

The list includes Nigeria, the most populous country in Africa, as well as Belarus, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Nigeria, Sudan, and Tanzania.

Mr. Trump told the Wall Street Journal on Monday at a conference in Davos, Switzerland, that he plans to introduce this measure.

The list has yet to be finalized, officials said, and citizens of those countries could face restrictions in visitor and work visas and could be ineligible to participate in the diversity visa lottery program.

The White House plans to announce the new restrictions on Monday, which is the anniversary of the initial travel ban, which placed restrictions on visits of citizens from seven Muslim-majority countries including Iraq, Iran, Sudan, Somalia, Syria, Yemen, and Libya.

The original ban was held by the courts to be unconstitutional because it blocked entry to people based on religion, citing President Trump’s campaign promise to stop Muslims from entering the country.

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News

Read previous post:
Officials Confirm First Case of Coronavirus in U.S.

The U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention said Tuesday a man in Washington State is the first confirmed case...