Apple Pay to Expand to 16 New Countries Including Croatia, Greece, Malta, Slovakia, and Slovenia

By Anna Breuer on 17 May 2019
  • Share

IMG_0722Apple Pay will expand to 16 countries in Europe in the coming months.

U.K.-based bank Monese said it will soon support the service in Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Estonia, Greece, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Latvia, Malta, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, and Slovenia.

In addition, Apple Pay will make its debut in Hungary, Luxembourg, and the Netherlands.

Apple Pay made its start in 2015 in the United States. Today it is available in numerous countries including Austria, Canada, China, Denmark, France, Ireland, Italy, Japan, New Zealand, Russia, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, the United Kingdom, as well as Hong Kong.

Apple CEO Tim Cook said earlier in the year that Apple Pay will be available in over 40 regions by the end of 2019.

Customers can make payments with Apple Pay from an Apple iPhone, Apple Watch, iPad, or Mac. The use of Apple Pay does not require Apple Pay-specific contactless terminals; most such terminals support the service although acceptance is merchant specific.

Apple Pay is accepted by a wide variety of retailers including coffee houses, grocery stores, department stores, gas stations, hotels, pharmacies, restaurants, and specialty stores, as well as by many iPhone apps.

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News

Read previous post:
EPA Inspector General Recommends Agency Recover $124,000 in Pruitt’s ‘Excessive’ Travel Expenses

Scott Pruitt, the former administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency, along with his staff, spent approximately $124,000 in excessive travel...