Marriott to Introduce New, Unified Guest Loyalty Program on August 18

By Anna Breuer on 25 July 2018
  • Share

IMG_3922Marriott International announced that it will integrate its three guest loyalty programs – Marriott Rewards, Starwood Preferred Guest, and Ritz-Carlton Rewards – on August 18.

The hotelier had originally planned to do this on August 1. It also doesn’t plan to announce the new name of the program until 2019. Until then, the unified program will operate under the three current names.

Along with the unified program, Marriott will introduce a single points currency. Members of any of the three programs will earn ten points per dollar spent on hotel charges, although that will go down to five points per dollar at Element, Residence Inn, and TownPlace Suite hotels, and 2.5 points per dollar at Marriott Executive Apartments. Members with elite status will continue to earn their respective bonuses.

To compensate for the change, members of Starwood Preferred Guest will see their Starpoints balance multiplied by a factor of three in a one-time conversion in August.

The unified award chart will feature eight categories of rooms with three tiers of pricing, namely off-peak, standard, and peak.

Marriott has indicated that it expects some IT issues on the first day and told members to be prepared for this eventuality.

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News

Read previous post:
Shake Shack and Other Local Eateries Cleared for Landing at LaGuardia’s New Central Terminal

When the new Central Terminal at LaGuardia Airport’s Concourse B opens later this year, it will have six dining establishments...