Six Airlines at LaGuardia Airport to Relocate on Saturday

By Paul Riegler on 7 December 2017
  • Share

Six airlines at LaGuardia Airport in New York City, namely American, Delta, JetBlue, Alaska, Frontier, and Spirit, will move some or all of their operations on Saturday to other terminals at the airport.

Delta Air Lines, which currently operates from three terminals, the Marine Air Terminal as well as Terminals C and D, will consolidate operations to Terminals C and D.  This means that the historic Marine Air Terminal, which is the only active airport today that dates back to the start of commercial air travel in the United States, will lose its last connection to Pan American World Airways, which began operations there for what is now the Delta Shuttle in 1986.

American Airlines, which operates from the Central Terminal Building as well as Terminal C, the former US Airways terminal, will consolidate all of its operations in the Central Terminal Building, also known as Terminal B.

“Consolidation of aircraft operations for American and Delta will help make airfield movements more efficient, helping to reduce on-the-ground delays,” the Port Authority said in a statement.

Meanwhile, Alaska Airlines and JetBlue Airways will relocate from the Central Terminal Building to the Marine Air Terminal.

“Our new Marine Air Terminal home will complement this historic Art Deco jewel with the state-of-the-art touches you’ve come to expect from us,” JetBlue said in a statement.

Once the move is completed, Delta, along with Frontier and Spirit, will be the sole occupants of Terminals C and D. Meanwhile, American, Air Canada, Southwest, and United will be the sole occupants of the Central Terminal Building, while JetBlue and Alaska will operate out of the Marine Air Terminal.

While Frontier and Spirit will operate out of Terminal D, check-in counters for the two airlines will be located in Terminal C.

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News