EU Parliament Votes to End Visa-Free Travel for U.S. Citizens

By Christian Stampfer on 3 March 2017
  • Share
Brussels, Belgium

Brussels, Belgium

MUNICH—The European Parliament passed a non-binding resolution to end visa-free travel for Americans entering the European Union.

The move follows the failure of the United States to agree to visa-free travel for citizens of five EU countries, namely Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Poland, and Romania, as part of a reciprocity agreement.

Currently, U.S. citizens can enter all EU countries without a visa.

The resolution was intended to “encourage” the United States to live up to its reciprocity agreement, according to a statement issued by the European Parliament, but it may not go into effect due to fears of the impact it will have on tourism and trade.

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News

Read previous post:
Lobby Bar – March 3: Getting Noticed in Flight, Demons Love Airports, and the TSA Goes Rogue

Lobby Bar – A Silly Soliloquy of FBT News and Views Loyal to the end. Boeing’s high-tech 787 Dreamliner aircraft...