More Judges Block Trump’s Executive Order on Immigration

By Paul Riegler on 29 January 2017
  • Share
John F. Kennedy International Airport

John F. Kennedy International Airport

NEW YORK—Despite a ruling from a federal judge who issued a stay on President Donald Trump’s executive order that temporarily restricted entry to the United States for citizens of seven terrorism-prone countries, much of the order remained in place.

The emergency stay, issued by Judge Ann Donnelly who sits on the United States District Court for the Eastern District of New York, did prevent the government from deporting citizens from the list of seven countries who had already arrived in the United States. The stay had been sought by the American Civil Liberties Union and the group estimated that the ruling affected some 200 people.

The Department of Homeland Security issued this response to the court ruling: “President Trump’s Executive Orders remain in place – prohibited travel will remain prohibited, and the U.S. government retains its right to revoke visas at any time if required for national security or public safety,” adding that the agency will “continue to enforce all of President Trump’s Executive Orders in a manner that ensures the safety and security of the American people.”

Following Judge Donnelly’s ruling, three other courts – in Alexandria, Virginia; Boston, Massachusetts; and Seattle, Washington – issued similar rulings. In Boston, U.S. District Judge Allison D. Burroughs and U.S. Magistrate Judge Gail Dein ordered the Department of Homeland Security to limit “secondary screening to comply with the regulations and statutes in effect prior to the Executive Order,” adding that the department was not permitted to “detain or remove” approved refugees holding a valid visa, green car, or others “who, absent the executive order, would be legally authorized to enter the United States.”

The court ordered the United States Marshall of Massachusetts to enforce the ruling and ordered U.S. Customs and Border Protection to notify airlines with flights arriving at Logan Airport in Boston of the order and that individuals arriving on flights to that airport would not be detained or deported.

Although additional court challenges are expected, citizens of seven nations – Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen – would be prohibited from entering the United States for 90 days under the executive order.

U.S. residents from those countries who hold a green card will need to report to a U.S. consulate for “extra vetting,” and will be admitted on a case-by-case basis.

Anyone with U.S. citizenship will not be impacted by the executive order, while all refugees will be barred from entering the country for 120 days and Syrian refugees will be barred indefinitely.

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News

Read previous post:
Federal Court Stays Trump’s Refugee and Immigrant Ban

NEW YORK—A federal judge late Saturday issued an emergency stay blocking President Donald Trump’s executive order that barred citizens of...