United Airlines Adds New Requirements for Premier Status

By Paul Riegler on 19 June 2013
  • Share
United's terminal at JFK

United’s terminal at JFK

United Airlines announced changes to the Premier qualification requirements of its MileagePlus frequent flyer program.  The changes, which go into effect on January 1, 2014 for the 2015 calendar year, introduce a new and additional qualification, Premier qualifying dollars (PQDs).

MileagePlus members will need to meet a minimum spend level in order to qualify for Premier status.  The number of PQDs will be based on the price of the tickets purchased and will be in addition to the Premier qualifying miles (PQMs) or Premier qualifying segments (PQSs) which are currently used to determine a passenger’s status level.

For Premier Silver status, a MileagePlus member will need to spend a minimum of $2,500 in addition to qualifying via PQMs or PQSs.  The thresholds required for Premier Gold, Premier Platinum, and Premier 1K are $5,000, $7,500, and $10,000 respectively.   For 2014, MileagePlus members residing within the 50 United States and the District of Columbia can also meet the requirement by spending $25,000 on a MileagePlus co-branded credit card from Chase with the exception of Premier 1K members, for whom there is no waiver.

In addition to the above, the airline is requiring that members fly a minimum of four paid flights operated by United, United Express, or Copa Airlines to qualify for any Premier status.

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News

Read previous post:
United 787 Dreamliner Diverts After Mechanical Problem

A United Airlines Boeing 787 Dreamliner bound for Tokyo was diverted to Seattle-Tacoma International Airport on Tuesday afternoon, after its...