Tuesday’s Winter Solstice Marks Shortest Day of the Year

By Anna Breuer on 21 December 2021
  • Share

Today, Tuesday, December 21, marks the winter solstice, the day of the year with longest night and fewest hours of daylight. The solstice is an astronomical phenomenon where the northern portion of the Earth’s axis is tilted furthest away from the sun, and takes place at the same time everywhere on earth.

In 2021, the solstice will occur at 10:58 a.m. EST, hence 9:58 a.m. CST, 8:58 a.m. MST, and 7:58 a.m. PST across the United States, and at 4:58 p.m. Central European Time At that instant, the sun will be directly overhead at the Tropic of Capricorn, or 23.5° south latitude.

As a result, the winter solstice is the day with the shortest period of daylight.

In the United States and many other countries in the Northern Hemisphere, the winter solstice marks the first day of winter. However, meteorological winter began on December 1, as, in accordance with the meteorological definition, the seasons begin on the first day of the months that include the equinoxes and solstice.

In the Southern Hemisphere, Tuesday is the summer solstice; the winter solstice takes place on June 21.

It’s important to note that, just because December 21 is the shortest day in the Northern Hemisphere, it doesn’t translate into the day on which most of the Northern Hemisphere experiences its earliest sunset or latest sunrise. For those in New York City, for example, the earliest sunset took place on December 7 at 4:27 p.m. although it took place on December 20 in Munich at 4:22 p.m. local time.

The sunset on December 21 will take place at 4:31 p.m.  in New York City. At nine hours and 15 minutes, the day will be five hours and 50 minutes shorter than on June 21, the summer solstice.

The farther north one travels, the amount of daylight will diminish precipitously. The city of Rovaniemi, the capital of Finland’s northern-most province, Lapland, will only have two hours and 14 minutes of daylight on Tuesday, while Reykjavik in Iceland will see a generous four hours and seven minutes.

Meanwhile, many people will gather at Stonehenge in southern England, believed to have been erected to celebrate celestial events such as solstices and equinoxes, and elsewhere across the globe to celebrate the day, which was also Brumalia, a winter festival in ancient Rome; Koliada, a pre-Christian Slavic winter festival; and Yule, a festival observed by the historical Germanic people.

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News

Read previous post:
Coronavirus Morning News Brief – Dec. 20: The Worst of the Pandemic ‘Could Very Well Be’ Ahead of Us

Moderna said Monday that its booster shot significantly increased levels of immune-system antibodies against Omicron in the lab tests. The...

Close