N.Y. Now Require Visitors from 35 Territories and States to Self-Quarantine

By Paul Riegler on 22 September 2020
  • Share

The lower Manhattan skyline

Travelers from 35 other territories and states planning to visit New York will be required to self-quarantine for 14 days upon arrival.

New York Governor Andrew Cuomo announced the addition of five more states with significant community spread of the coronavirus to the list, which, when it debuted on June 24, had only nine states.

“The virus’ spread across the country – new cases have increased more than 15 percent in the last ten days – makes it all the more urgent that we stay vigilant here at home,,” the governor said in a statement.

The additional five states are Arizona, Minnesota, Nevada, Rhode Island, and Wyoming.

In addition to those states, the list includes  Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Idaho, llinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina,North Dakota, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, South Carolina,South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, UtahVirginia, Wisconsin, and West Virginia

States with a positive test rate higher than 10% per 100,000 residents over a seven-day rolling average or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average are placed on the quarantine list, the governor had said in June.

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News