N.Y., N.J., Connecticut Now Require Visitors from 31 States to Self-Quarantine

By Kurt Stolz on 21 July 2020
  • Share

Macy’s on 34th Street in Manhattan

Travelers from 31 other states planning to visit the New York tristate area, which includes New Jersey and Connecticut, will be required to self-quarantine for 14 days upon arrival.

New York Governor Andrew Cuomo announced the addition of ten more states with significant community spread of the coronavirus to the list, which, when it debuted on June 24, had only nine states.

“As infection rates increase in 41 other states, our numbers continue to steadily decline, thanks to the hard work of New Yorkers and our incremental, data-driven reopening,” the governor said in a statement.

The additional ten states are Alaska, Delaware, Indiana, Maryland, Missouri, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, Virginia, and Washington.

States with a positive test rate higher than 10% per 100,000 residents over a seven-day rolling average or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average are placed on the quarantine list, the governor had said in June.

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News

Read previous post:
United Airlines Says Revenue Fell Almost 90% in Second Quarter

United Airlines announced financial results for the second quarter of 2020. Calling it “the most difficult quarter” in its history,...