U.K. Plans Air Bridges with Many European Countries

By Paul Riegler on 26 June 2020
  • Share

London’s Heathrow Airport

The United Kingdom plans to exempt travelers from multiple European countries from its 14-day self-quarantine rules come summer.  The exemption will come from so-called “air bridge” agreements with other countries that will allow travelers from the two countries to visit the other.

U.K. Transport Secretary Grant Shapps said that air bridges would only be formed with countries that have a coronavirus test and trace system that follows the same standards used in Britain, according to British media.

Shapps told the Commons Transport Select Committee that air bridges are a “massive priority.”

“I understand entirely the pain that aviation is going through. I know both for airports, for airlines and actually for ground handlers as well, this coronavirus has been a complete disaster.”

Countries reportedly under consideration include Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Norway, Spain, and the Netherlands.  Countries with higher rates of coronavirus infection such as Portugal and Sweden would not be eligible.

The U.K. government expects to have such agreements in place by early July.

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News

Read previous post:
WestJet to Layoff 24% of Workforce Amidst Pandemic

WestJet announced plans to lay off 24% of its workforce, or 3,333 employees, as the coronavirus pandemic continues to decimate...