Alaska, American, Delta, Hawaiian, JetBlue, Southwest, United Agree to Common Wellness Assessment

By Kurt Stolz on 29 June 2020
  • Share

Check-in area at the new LaGuardia Airport

Seven U.S. airlines agreed Monday on a common set of coronavirus-related health and wellness procedures for passengers.

The list of carriers includes Alaska, American, Delta, Hawaiian, JetBlue, Southwest, and United.

The airlines will require all passengers to complete a “health acknowledgement” in the course of checking in for a flight. The acknowledgement will cover that a face covering must be worn, that the passenger does not have a fever (100.4° F or 38° C or higher) and is not experiencing symptoms of Covid-19 including coughing, shortness of breath, loss of taste and/or smell, muscle pain, or a sore throat. The process also requires the passenger to affirm that he has not had close contact with someone who has either tested positive for or had symptoms of Covid-19 in the preceding 14 days.

The agreement was announced by Airlines for America, an industry trade trade.

The new procedures are part of a “multi-layered approach to help mitigate the transmission of COVID to passengers and employees,” said Nicholas Calio, the group’s president.

Travelers should expect the policies to remain in force throughout the pandemic

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News

Read previous post:
The Musical ‘Six’ to be Performed in Drive-In Spaces Across the U.K.

Centurion Award winner “Six” will become the first West End musical to return to the stage this summer, albeit in...