Delta Air Lines Suspending Service at 10 Airports

By Paul Riegler on 8 May 2020
  • Share

Delta aircraft at JFK

Delta Air Lines said Friday it plans to temporarily discontinue service at ten airports.

The plan goes into effect on May 13 and will continue until “at least” September.

The list of airports includes Akron-Canton in Ohio; Chicago Midway International; Hollywood Burbank; Long Beach; Manchester-Boston Regional; Newport News/Williamsburg International in Virginia; Oakland International; Stewart International in New Windsor, New York; T.F. Green International in Providence, Rhode Island; and Westchester County in White Plains, New York. 

“These changes will allow more of our frontline employees to minimize their Covid-19 exposure risk while ensuring convenient access to Delta’s network for those who must travel,” the airline said in a statement.

The airports affected by the closing are all in metropolitan areas with airports Delta will continue to serve such as Chicago O’Hare International in Chicago and San Francisco International in the Bay Area.

In addition to these closings, Delta also said it would suspend flights to Saskatoon John G. Diefenbaker International Airport in Saskatchewan, a city that is not served by a nearby airport.

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News

Read previous post:
Gov. Cuomo: New York State is ‘Finally Ahead of the Virus’

New York is “finally ahead of the virus,” the state’s governor, Andrew Cuomo, said in his daily press briefing. The...