U.S. Extends Travel Ban to Include U.K. and Ireland

By Paul Riegler on 14 March 2020
  • Share

The U.S. government Saturday expanded its current travel ban to include the United Kingdom and Ireland as it tries to contain the spread of the novel coronavirus.

The Trump Administration had originally excluded the two countries from the ban, which covers just 26 countries in the Schengen Area up until now.

Vice President Mike Pence confirmed the news at a press conference late Saturday morning.

“The President has made a decision to suspend all travel from the United Kingdom and Ireland effective midnight, Monday night, Eastern standard time,” he said.

The restrictions will prevent most non-U.S. citizens and residents who have visited countries in the Schengen Area within a 14-day period from traveling to the United States.  U.S. citizens and holders of green cards are exempt, along with their immediate families.

The Schengen Area is an area comprised of 26 European states that have officially abolished passport and other types of controls at their mutual borders. Not all are members of the European Union.  The 26 Schengen countriesare Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News

Read previous post:
Apple Closes All Stores Outside China for 2 Weeks

Apple said it was closing all of its retail stores with the exception of those in China through March 27....