Texas to Quarantine Arriving Passengers from N.Y., N.J., and New Orleans

By Paul Riegler on 26 March 2020
  • Share

Texas State Capitol building in Austin

The State of Texas will require arriving passengers from New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, and New Orleans to self-quarantine for 14 days upon landing.

The quarantine is “focused on reducing the spread of the coronavirus” and “using every strategy possible to reduce the spread,” said the state’s governor, Greg Abbot.

The move comes a few days after the state of Florida announced a similar self-quarantine for those arriving from New York.

The new regulations go into effect at 12 noon local time on Saturday.  Military, emergency, health, and critical infrastructure personnel as “determined by the Texas Division of Emergency Management” will be exempt.

Arriving passengers will be required to complete a form and provide a local address that would allow local authorities to verify that the individual is remaining in quarantine.

“The Department of Public Safety troopers will conduct visits to those designated quarantine locations to verify compliance with this executive order,” the governor said, adding that “failure to comply with this order is considered to be a criminal offense that is punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 or 180 days in jail or both.”

The person under quarantine is not permitted any visitors under the governor’s order except for health-care professionals.

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News

Read previous post:
Who Will Benefit from the $2 Trillion Coronavirus Economic Stimulus Bill?

Although it awaits passage in the House of Representatives, the White House and Senate finally agreed on a $2 trillion...