Friday’s Summer Solstice to Mark Longest Day of the Year

Sunset over Manhattan, photographed while landing at JFK

By Anna Breuer on 21 June 2019
  • Share

Today, Friday, June 21, marks the summer solstice, the day of the year with longest period of daylight and fewest hours of darkness.

The solstice is an astronomical phenomenon at which the Northern Hemisphere is tilted closest to the sun, and takes place at the same time everywhere on earth.

In 2019, the solstice will occur at 11:54 a.m. EDT, hence 10:54 a.m. CDT, 9:54 a.m. MST, and 8:54 a.m. PDT. At that instant, the earth’s maximum axial tilt toward the Sun will be 23.44°.

Depending on calendar adjustments such as leap year, the summer solstice occurs each year at a point between June 20 and June 22 in the Northern Hemisphere and between December 20 and December 23 in the Southern Hemisphere.

The summer solstice is the day with the longest period of daylight although not the day with the earliest sunrise or the latest sunset.

For those living in New York City, for example, the earliest sunrise was on June 14 and 15 and took place at 5:24 a.m. The latest sunset will take place on June 27 and 28 at 8:31 p.m.

In the United States and many other countries in the Northern Hemisphere, the summer solstice marks the first day of summer. However, meteorological summer began on June 1, as, in accordance with the meteorological definition, the seasons begin on the first day of the months that include the equinoxes and solstice.

Meanwhile, many people will gather at Stonehenge in southern England, believed to have been erected to celebrate celestial events such as solstices and equinoxes.

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News

Read previous post:
Aeroflot Announces Multiple New Routes Including Moscow to Marseille

Aeroflot announced on Thursday multiple new routes and increases in frequency. The Russian flag carrier is adding new service from...

Close