U.S. Citizens to be Eligible to Use U.K. Self-Service ePassport Gates

By Anna Breuer on 29 October 2018
  • Share


The United Kingdom announced plans to allow travelers from five countries, including the United States and Canada, to use ePassport gates when arriving at the country’s airports starting next year.

Chancellor to the Exchequer Philip Hammond made the announcement in the House of Commons in the course of presenting the U.K.’s budget.

“We’ll open the use of ePassport gates at Heathrow and other airports, currently only available to EEA nationals, to include visitors from the United States, Canada, New Zealand, Australia and Japan,” he said.

Currently, ePassport gates are only available to those residing in the European Economic Area.

Hammond said that the reason for the change was to “send a message loud and clear to the rest of the world: Britain is open for business” following Brexit.

The so-called e-gates were first introduced in the United Kingdom in 2008.  Over 250 are currently in place at 22 airports and rail terminals across the country.

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News

Read previous post:
Des Moines Marriott Completes Major Redesign and Renovation Project

Marriott International announced the completion of an extensive renovation project at the Des Moines Marriott Downtown. The new look, “Modern...