World Cup 2026 Is Awarded Jointly to United States, Canada, and Mexico

By Anna Breuer on 13 June 2018
  • Share
This will be Canada's first time hosting the World Cup.

This will be Canada’s first time hosting the World Cup.

The Fédération Internationale de Football Association, commonly known as FIFA and world football or soccer’s governing body, announced that a combined bid from the United States, Mexico, and Canada had been awarded the hosting rights for the 2026 World Cup.  The move marks the first time the tournament will be in North America since 1994.

The North American bid, which was only challenged by Morocco, promised FIFA a record $11 billion in profits. It also marks the first time the World Cup will be hosted by three countries at the same time.

The final match will be held at MetLife Stadium in New Jersey. Out of the 80 total matches, ten will be in Canada and ten in Mexico, with the remainder in the United States.

Mexico was host to two World Cup tournaments, in 1970 and 1986. Canada has never been host to the World Cup.

“Thank you for the incredible privilege,” said Carlos Cordeiro, president of U.S. soccer in remarks following the vote. “Football today is the only victor.”

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News

Read previous post:
Restaurant Review: Bobby Van’s Steakhouse, New York

Back in the 1970s at the original Bobby Van’s restaurant on Main Street in Bridgehampton, the clique of regulars at...