Thursday’s Summer Solstice to Mark Longest Day of the Year

Stonehenge, a prehistoric monument in Wiltshire, England

By Anna Breuer on 21 June 2018
  • Share

Today, Thursday, June 21, marks the summer solstice, the day of the year with longest period of daylight and fewest hours of darkness.

The solstice is an astronomical phenomenon at which the Northern Hemisphere is tilted closest to the sun, and takes place at the same time everywhere on earth.

In 2018, the solstice will occur at 6:07 a.m. EDT, hence 5:07 a.m. CDT, 4:07 a.m. MST, and 3:07 a.m. PDT. At that instant, the earth’s maximum axial tilt toward the Sun will be 23.44°.

Depending on calendar adjustments such as leap year, the summer solstice occurs each year at a point between June 20 and June 22 in the Northern Hemisphere and between December 20 and December 23 in the Southern Hemisphere.

However, just because June 21 is the longest day in the Northern Hemisphere, it doesn’t translate into the day on which most of the Northern Hemisphere experiences its earliest sunrise or latest sunset. For those living in New York City, for example, the earliest sunrise was in the period June 8 – June 20 and took place at 5:24 a.m. The latest sunset will take place in the period June 23 – July 1 at 8:31 p.m.

Meanwhile, many people will gather at Stonehenge in southern England, believed to have been erected to celebrate celestial events such as solstices and equinoxes.

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News

Read previous post:
American, United Airlines to Washington: Don’t Fly Migrant Children Separated from Their Families on Our Aircraft

American Airlines and United Airlines told the U.S. government on Wednesday that it should not transport migrant children separated from...

Close