TSA Backpedals on License Requirement at Security Checkpoints

By Anna Breuer on 28 December 2017
  • Share

IMG_2174 (1)

The U.S. Transportation Security Administration, the agency responsible for the nation’s security checkpoints at airports, won’t enforce new standards for identification beginning in January.

The agency had already posted signs at airports warning that, “starting January 22, 2018, you will need an alternative ID to fly if you have a driver’s license or ID issued by any of the following states: Kentucky, Maine, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Washington.”

This is apparently no longer the case. On Wednesday, Transportation Security Administration spokesman Mike England said in a statement that travelers from all 50 states can continue to use their driver’s licenses until October 1, 2020.

The states whose licenses were in question do not comply with the Real ID Act of 2005, which established minimum security standards for license issuance and production. The act prohibits Federal agencies from accepting, for certain purposes, driver’s licenses and identification cards from states not meeting the act’s minimum standards.

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News

Read previous post:
Ten New Year’s Resolutions for the Frequent Traveler

The year 2018 is just around the corner. People start the year with a blank slate and a bright outlook...