New Executive Order Bars Almost All Travel from Seven Countries

By Paul Riegler on 24 September 2017
  • Share

JFKNoEntry(2)The White House issued a new order on Sunday banning virtually all citizens from seven countries to the United States. The new executive order includes most of the countries covered by President Trump’s original travel ban.

The new order goes beyond the president’s original travel ban, which was issued back in March. It places permanent restrictions on travel, as opposed to the 90-day suspension in the original ban.

The countries covered by the new order are Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, and Yemen. The order cites threats to national security that would exist by letting citizens of these countries into the United States. In addition, citizens of Iraq and some citizens from Venezuela will face restrictions or heightened scrutiny when seeking to come to the United States.

The original travel ban unleashed a chaos that included federal court stays and hearings in part because it included restrictions based on religion. The new order, which is more far-reaching, focuses solely on national security issues and does not single out a single religious group.

The new order is slated to go into effect in October.

“As president, I must act to protect the security and interests of the United States and its people,” said Mr. Trump in the proclamation, adding that the restrictions would remain in effect until the governments of the affected nations “satisfactorily address the identified inadequacies.”

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News

Read previous post:
Lobby Bar – September 22: Charizard the Tourguide, Being Tickled by a Butler, and BMW Invests in Dongles

Lobby Bar – An Optical Illusion of Words Forced laughs. Take a seat next to us in the theater for...