Qatar to Offer Visa-Free Entry for Citizens of 80 Countries

By Jesse Sokolow on 9 August 2017
  • Share
The Souq Waqif in Doha

The Souq Waqif in Doha

Officials in Qatar announced Wednesday that, effective immediately, citizens from 80 countries will be allowed into the Gulf nation without visas.

In lieu of a visa, a multi-entry waiver will be issued to travelers at the point of entry. Travelers must present a valid passport with a minimum validity of six months, as well as a confirmed onward or return ticket.

Depending on the traveler’s nationality, the waiver will be valid for either 30 or 180 days. Those receiving the shorter waiver can apply for an extension of 30 additional days; those with the longer waiver can spend a total of 90 days in Qatar on one or more trips, depending on the nationality of the traveler.

Citizens from 47 countries including Argentina, Australia, Canada, Japan, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States will be eligible for a 30-day waiver, while those from 33 countries including Austria, France, Germany, Italy, Poland, Switzerland, and Turkey will be eligible for 180-day waivers.

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News