Sweden, then Denmark, Impose Border Controls

By Paul Riegler on 4 January 2016
  • Share

DSC_0410Two Scandinavian countries tightened their borders Monday as refugees continued to flow from Greece and Turkey to points north.

Sweden moved first, imposing border checks on travelers arriving from Denmark. The country of Hans Christian Andersen followed suit, introducing identity checks on its border with Germany, amidst fears that refugees who might enter from that country destined for Sweden would be unable to leave.

The move added two more countries to the list of those rejecting the concept of borderless travel in Europe, although the Danish border controls were put into place for only ten days, with the possibility of renewing them for an additional 20. Meanwhile, Sweden’s border controls are to be in place for three years.

Sweden is requiring travelers to show a valid photo id such as a driver’s license or passport. Travel between Germany and Denmark, which has not required a passport or the transiting of border controls since 2001 under the Schengen Agreement, now requires similar travel documents.

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News

Read previous post:
Air Berlin Offering Status Match to U.S. Residents

Air Berlin announced its topbonus frequent flyer program is offering a status match to frequent flyers residing in the United...