Canada Expands China Transit Program to Five New Cities

By Jesse Sokolow on 31 July 2015
  • Share
Montréal–Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport

Montréal–Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport

Effective immediately, five Chinese cities have been added to the list of approved Asian cities in the China Transit Program that allows Chinese nationals to travel to Canada, on an approved airline, without requiring a Canadian visa, while en route to the United States.

The additional cities are Xiamen, Fuzhou, Chengdu, Shenyang, and Harbin, and double the number of Chinese cities in the program.  Other Chinese cities in the program include Beijing, Guanzhou, Hong Kong, and Shanghai.

Travelers using the program can arrive in Canada without a visa provided they hold a confirmed, same-day ticket for a direct flight to the United States.  They are not allowed layovers or overnight stays.

In May, the program was expanded to include Tokyo and Seoul.  Other non-Chinese cities in the program include Hong Kong, Manila, and Taipei.

Approved airlines in the China Transit Program include: Air Canada, Air Canada rouge, Air China, Air Georgian, Cathay Pacific, China Southern, Jazz Air, Philippine Airlines, Sky Regional Airlines, and WestJet.

The program “benefits the Canadian economy in a number of ways, notably by making certain routes economically viable that otherwise would not exist,” said the Canadian Airports Council.

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News

Read previous post:
Blue Mo-Fi Headphones – Review

There may be a surfeit of headphones on the market, but there are still ways for new products to break...