Delta Introduces Changes to SkyBonus Rewards Program

By Karin Sun on 30 July 2014
  • Share
Delta aircraft at JFK

Delta aircraft at JFK

Delta Air Lines announced that it has made changes to SkyBonus, its rewards program for businesses and corporate customers.  The airline said that the new upgrades are expected to increase reward opportunities and make the reward redemption process easier for SkyBonus members.

As part of the changes, the carrier replaced its 16 region-specific rewards with a new system-wide reward that offers greater flexibility in award selection.  The airline also reduced the number of points needed to redeem some reward certificates, and updated its Silver Medallion status reward to provide 12 months of Silver Medallion benefits.

In addition, Delta introduced new higher reward pricing for its premium transcontinental service between New York’s John F. Kennedy International Airport and Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Seattle, all of which have lie-flat seats, Westin Heavenly In-Flight Bedding, and other amenities in business class  The airline is also offering SkyBonus members traveling on flights through Memphis 30 points for every $1 spent on premium airfare, and six points for every $1 spent on all other types of fare.

Delta’s SkyBonus loyalty program allows companies and businesses to earn points any time an employees flies on Delta or any of its joint venture partners, including Air France, KLM, and Alitalia.  Points can be redeemed for status, seat upgrades, Sky Club passes, and various other rewards.

Delta Air Lines currently operates over 5,400 flights daily and serves more than 300 destinations in 64 countries worldwide.

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News