Facebook Introduces Privacy Checkup Tool, Refines Controls
Facebook announced that it is revamping its privacy controls by adding additional features so users can fully customize whom they wish to share content with. The improvements will include a new and expanded privacy checkup for existing users, while new users will start with a default friends-only audience for their posts.
Some users have reported being confused by the social media network’s privacy settings, which have become increasingly complicated over the past few years. Many users were unaware of how much information they were unwittingly sharing, including sensitive data such as e-mail addresses and mobile phone numbers.
First-time posters will now receive a prompt to choose an audience when making their first post, and if the field is left blank, then the post will only be visible to friends. These settings can be adjusted at any time, and users can retroactively change the privacy settings for past posts.
Facebook is also introducing an expanded privacy checkup tool for current users, which will allow them to review who can see their posts and information. Additionally, there is a new anonymous login function that allows users to log into apps and websites without sharing personal information from their profiles.
Facebook has 1.28 billion users worldwide, comprising more than 50% of all Internet users on Earth, excluding China, where the social network continues to be blocked by the government.
(Photo: Accura Media Group)