Southwest Airlines to Offer Service to 15 New Destinations from Dallas Love Field

By Jesse Sokolow on 3 February 2014
  • Share
A Southwest plane taking off from LaGuardia

A Southwest plane taking off from LaGuardia

Southwest Airlines announced it will offer service to five new domestic destinations from Dallas Love Field beginning October 13, as well as 10 more on November 2.  The airline’s new destinations follow the repeal of flight restrictions that were imposed in 1979 that limited the number of destinations that the airport could serve.

On October 13, the carrier will begin nonstop service between Dallas and Baltimore, Denver, Las Vegas, Orlando, and Chicago Midway.  The airline will then launch nonstop service from Dallas to Atlanta, Nashville, Washington, D.C. (Reagan National), Fort Lauderdale, Los Angeles, New York (LaGuardia), Phoenix, San Diego, Orange County, and Tampa on November 2.

Repeal of the Wright Amendment, which limited Southwest’s all jet service from Dallas Love Field to nine states including Texas, now allows the carrier to serve a potential 41 total states, as well as the District of Columbia.

Southwest will announce flight schedules for the new destinations in May.

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News

Read previous post:
Snow Blankets Northeast, Cancelling Flights and Stranding Super Bowl Fans

The winter’s 13th storm will leave snow behind in as many as 30 states, ending late Monday as it moves...