Alaska to Count Miles from British Airways, Cathay, Korean, Qantas Towards MileagePlan Status

By Paul Riegler on 10 December 2013
  • Share
An Alaska Airlines jet in Los Angeles

An Alaska Airlines jet in Los Angeles

Alaska Airlines announced changes and enhancements to its Mileage Plan frequent flyer program that increase the opportunity for members to earn status miles.

The airline said it will add additional international airline partners to the list of carriers on which Mileage Plan members can earn elite qualifying miles and segments starting January 15, 2014.  The additions include British Airways, Cathay Pacific, Fiji Airways, Korean Air, and Qantas.

Currently, members can earn elite qualifying miles on Aeromexico, Air France, American Airlines, Delta Air Lines, Emirates, KLM, and LAN.

Alaska’s Mileage Plan program has three levels of elite status: Most Valuable Passenger (MVP), MVP Gold, and MVP Gold 75.  MVP-level members receive complimentary upgrades, flight mile bonuses, and priority check-in, seating, and boarding, as well as other benefits.  They also get complimentary upgrades on Delta as well as priority check-in, boarding, and seating on American Airlines and Delta.

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News