Star Alliance to Move to Heathrow Terminal 2 in June of Next Year

By Jesse Sokolow on 4 June 2013
  • Share
London Heathrow as seen from the air

London Heathrow as seen from the air

Star Alliance announced it will move to Terminal 2 at London Heathrow in June of next year.  Every member airline of the alliance will operate out of the new terminal.

Once open, London Heathrow’s Terminal 2 will have more automated processes and common facilities than currently exist in any other terminal at the airport.

The 23 carriers that are a part of Star Alliance represent 20% of London Heathrow’s traffic.  The move will signify the first time that all of the airlines have operated out of a single terminal.

Star Alliance is made up of: Aegean Airlines, Air Canada, Air New Zealand, ANA, Asiana Airlines, Austrian Airlines, Brussels Airlines, Croatia Airlines, EGYPTAIR, Ethiopian Airlines, LOT Polish Airlines, Lufthansa, Scandinavian Airlines, Singapore Airlines, South African Airways, SWISS, TAM Airlines, TAP Portugal, Turkish Airlines, THAI, United Airlines, and US Airways.  Together, the airlines will provide 136 flights a day, to over 51 destinations worldwide.

EVA Air, a future member of Star Alliance, will join the carriers in operating out of Terminal 2 over the course of next year.

(Photo: Accura Media Group)

Accura News

Read previous post:
United to Fly Planes Using Renewable Biofuel

United Airlines said it will begin to use low-carbon, renewable jet fuel for some flights departing Los Angeles International Airport...